2015 Holidays: More Long Weekends

We’ve noted the policy shift under President Aquino, avoiding the previous administration’s “holiday economics” (moving holidays to Friday or Monday in order to have more long weekends). People can plan ahead to take trips during long weekends and the cycle of expenditures stimulate the economy. At least that’s how the theory goes. Holiday economics, of course, is provided by law, which is why former President Arroyo’s decision to move holidays to the nearest Fridays/Mondays was not surprising. Next year, 2015, the Philippines will enjoy more long weekends — not because of a conscious policy move, but by sheer coincidence. More holidays fall on a Friday or Monday. Here’s the full list of official Philippine holidays for 2015 (per Proclamation 831):

January 1, 2015, Thursday – New Year’s Day (Regular holiday)

January 2, 2015, Friday – Additional special non-working day (Special non-working day)

February 19, 2015, Thursday – Chinese New Year (Special non-working day)

February 25, 2015, Wednesday – EDSA Revolution anniversary (Special holiday)

April 2, 2015, Thursday – Maundy Thursday (Regular holiday)

April 3, 2015, Friday – Good Friday (Regular holiday)

April 4, 2015, Saturday – Black Saturday (Special non-working day)

April 9, 2015, Thursday – Araw ng Kagitingan (Regular holiday)

May 1, 2015, Friday – Labor Day (Regular holiday)

June 12, 2015, Friday – Independence Day (Regular holiday)

August 21, 2015, Friday – Ninoy Aquino Day (Special non-working day)

August 31, 2015, last Monday of August – National Heroes Day (Regular holiday)

November 1, 2015, Sunday – All Saints Day (Special non-working day)

November 30, 2015, Monday – Bonifacio Day (Regular holiday)

December 24, 2015, Thursday – Additional special non-working day (Special non-working day)

December 25, 2015, Friday – Christmas Day (Regular holiday)

December 30, 2015, Wednesday – Rizal Day (Regular holiday)

December 31, 2015, Thursday – Last day of the year (Special non-working day)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *